Councillors, political control, constitution and webcasting | Central Bedfordshire Council

Councillors, political control, constitution and webcasting

Town and parish councils in Central Bedfordshire

Central Bedfordshire has 79 town and parish councils.

Town and parish council activities fall into 3 main categories:

  • representing the local community
  • delivering services to meet local needs
  • striving to improve quality of life and community wellbeing

Through an extensive range of discretionary powers, local councils provide and maintain a variety of important and visible local services including:

  • allotments
  • bridleways
  • burial grounds
  • bus shelters
  • car parks
  • commons and open spaces
  • community transport schemes
  • community safety and crime reduction measures
  • events and festivals
  • footpaths
  • leisure and sports facilities
  • litter bins
  • public toilets
  • street cleaning and lighting
  • tourism activities
  • traffic calming measures
  • village greens
  • youth projects

View the A to Z of all Town and Parish Councils or search below

Search by town / parish council name

Advanced search