Development Management Committee - meetings and agendas

Development Management Committee

These meetings are taking place virtually. You can watch the meetings online, either live or after the meeting has happened.

Watch meetings online

Development Management Committee is responsible for all of the council’s functions relating to planning and development control. It makes decisions on planning applications, including those which relate to listed buildings or buildings in conservation areas, and can authorise enforcement action where development has taken place without planning permission. It also has duties and powers relating to the preservation of trees and hedgerows and the regulation of the use of highways and public rights of way. It has full delegated powers to act on behalf of the council and usually meets monthly.

Chair / Vice-Chair

  • Chair: Councillor Ken Matthews
  • Vice-Chair: Councillor Caroline Maudlin


  • Councillor Ray Berry (Conservative)
  • Councillor Mike Blair (Conservative)
  • Councillor Ian Bond (Conservative)
  • Councillor Kevin Collins (Conservative)
  • Councillor Frank Firth (Conservative)
  • Councillor Patrick Hamill (Independent)
  • Councillor Rebecca Hares (Independent)
  • Councillor Victoria Harvey (Independent)
  • Councillor Ken Matthews (Conservative)
  • Councillor Caroline Maudlin (Conservative)
  • Councillor Brian Spurr (Conservative)
  • Councillor Nigel Young (Conservative)
  • Councillor Mary Walsh (Independent)


  • Councillor John Baker (Independent)
  • Councillor David Bowater (Conservative)
  • Councillor Sue Clark (Conservative)
  • Councillor Ian Dalgarno (Conservative)
  • Councillor Yvonne Farrell (Liberal Democrats) *
  • Councillor Eugene Ghent (Conservative)
  • Councillor Charles Gomm (Conservative)
  • Councillor Tracey Wye (Independent)

* Named substitute for Councillor Hamill