Central Bedfordshire Council news and press releases

New Year’s Honours List 2020

Thursday, 2 January 2020

HM The Queen’s New Year’s Honours List for 2020 has been announced and includes ten Bedfordshire recipients.

Those who have been successful are:

Officers of the Order of the British Empire (OBE)

  • Rosemary Frances MAYGLOTHLING (Bedford) - For services to Rowing and Gender Equality in Sport
  • Martin James MCELHATTON (Luton) - For services to Disability Sport
  • Sabah GILANI (Luton), Chief Executive Officer, Better Community Business Network - For services to Young People and to the Muslim community
  • Charles Alan John YATES (Bedford), Head of Threat Leadership, Insights, Partnership and Delivery, National Crime Agency - For services to Law Enforcement

Members of the Order of the British Empire (MBE)

  • Peter John SCOTT (Bedford) - For voluntary service to the National Trust at Wightwick Manor, Wolverhampton
  • Dr Anne Margaret Stuart GRANT (Bedford) - For services to charity in Bedfordshire
  • Councillor Dr David MICHAEL (Luton) - For services to the community in Greater London

Medallists of the Order of the British Empire (BEM)

  • Beverley Ann CHIDLEY (Central Bedfordshire) - For services to Brownies and Girlguiding
  • Susan (Sue) Moira ZUBROT (Bedford) - For services to the community in Bedfordshire
  • The Right Reverend Alvin BLAKE (Luton) - For services to the community in Luton, Bedfordshire

HM Lord-Lieutenant of Bedfordshire, Helen Nellis said:

It is always a thrill to read how people in Bedfordshire are making a huge difference to their community in so many ways. My sincere congratulations to all those who have been awarded Honours and my thanks for your huge contribution.