Development Management Committee - meetings and agendas

Development Management Committee

Development Management Committee is responsible for all of the council’s functions relating to planning and development control. It makes decisions on planning applications, including those which relate to listed buildings or buildings in conservation areas, and can authorise enforcement action where development has taken place without planning permission. It also has duties and powers relating to the preservation of trees and hedgerows and the regulation of the use of highways and public rights of way. It has full delegated powers to act on behalf of the council and usually meets monthly.

You can:

Chair / Vice-Chair

  • Chair: Councillor Ken Matthews
  • Vice-Chair: Councillor Caroline Maudlin


  • Councillor Ray Berry (C)
  • Councillor Mike Blair (C)
  • Councillor Sue Clark (C)
  • Councillor Kevin Collins (C)
  • Councillor Frank Firth (C)
  • Councillor Patrick Hamill (UKIP)
  • Councillor Rebecca Hares (IN)
  • Councillor Victoria Harvey (IN)
  • Councillor Ken Matthews (C)
  • Councillor Caroline Maudlin (C)
  • Councillor Ian Shingler (IN)
  • Councillor Brian Spurr (C)
  • Councillor Nigel Young (C)


  • Councillor Ian Bond (C)
  • Councillor David Bowater (C)
  • Councillor Ian Dalgarno (C)
  • Councillor Yvonne Farrell (LD) *
  • Councillor Eugene Ghent (C)
  • Councillor Charles Gomm (C)
  • Councillor Alison Graham (IN)
  • Councillor Tracey Wye (IN)

* Named substitute for Councillor Hamill

Contact information

Leslie Manning - Support Officer
Telephone: 0300 300 5132

Sophie Sherwood - Support Officer
Telephone: 0300 300 5649