Consultation on new powers to improve road safety

Results – consultation on new powers to improve road safety

Consultation closed: Thursday 4 August 2022
Consultation opened: Thursday 23 June 2022

View or download the consultation report (PDF)

View or download the delegated decision notice (PDF)

The delegated decision was to take forward 5 of the pilot sites, where we will apply for powers from the Secretary of State.

These are:

  • Biggleswade, Sun Street – One Way System
  • Cranfield, Lodge Road – No Left Turn
  • Houghton Regis, Tithe Farm School – School No Waiting
  • Leighton Buzzard, Clipstone Brook – School No waiting
  • Leighton Buzzard, High Street – Pedestrian Zone

The decision has taken into account the Department for Transport's guidance and site selection criteria, feedback from the public consultation and a desk-based survey of pilot locations to establish if each site has wireless connectivity, electrical power, camera location in relation to the highways boundary and associated planning advice.

Taking into consideration the above criteria, the delegated decision was that the following 4 proposed pilot sites will not be taken forward at this stage:

  • Barton-le-Clay, Barton Road and Bedford Road – no right turn A6
  • Brogborough, Bedford Road – goods vehicles exceeding weight limit
  • Dunstable, Sainsbury’s one way route – no stopping in yellow box junction
  • Silsoe, Barton Road/High Street – goods vehicles exceeding weight limit