SEND inspection by Ofsted and the CQC | Central Bedfordshire Council

SEND inspection by Ofsted and the CQC

Detailed review of areas for improvement - Improving SEND services in Central Bedfordshire

To improve SEND provision across education, health and care services and support in Central Bedfordshire, we are taking a three stage approach.

This is stage 1.

This stage involves:

  • listening to the experiences of children, young people, and their families
  • listening to professionals and practitioners working with or supporting families

Month-by-month activity (most recent first)

August 2020
10 August and 12 August 2020
SNAP Parent Carer Forum (PCF) – parent panels

The purpose of these parent panels was to ask for parents' feedback on the draft Central Bedfordshire Written Statement of Action.

SNAP PCF is on the SEND Partnership Board, which has met over the last few months. The board gives a collective parents' view in these meetings.

We attended the meetings, to present and take notes of the feedback. All feedback from these events will inform further changes, ahead of the statement's submission deadline on 1 September 2020.

July 2020 (during COVID-19 lockdown)
7 July
Children's Services Overview and Scrutiny Committee meeting

Our Children's Services Overview and Scrutiny Committee meeting will be held virtually on 7 July at 10am.

Find out how to join the meeting or watch online.

Find out more about all our council meetings and how to attend virtually or to speak.

1 to 31 July
Listening and engagement with children and young people with SEND

Launched listening and engaging activity with children and young people with SEND, through the support of a group of partner organisations (including Healthwatch, Carers in Bedfordshire, Bedford Open Doors, Bedford and District Cerebral Palsy Society and health providers)

June 2020 (during COVID-19 lockdown)
25 June
Partner meeting to discuss listening and engaging with children and young people during COVID-19
First meeting with group of partner organisations (including Healthwatch, CAMHS, voluntary organisations and health providers). to discuss and agree approach to asking and co-producing with children and young people with SEND.
24 June (ongoing until 15 July)
Launched professional and practitioner engagement
Survey to all professionals and practitioners supporting children and young people with SEND in Central Bedfordshire, to better understand what is working well and what we can do better, together.
22 June
Meeting with Department for Education
Met with Department for Education to discuss and receive guidance on drafting the written statement of action.
1 to 19 June
Parent and carer survey launched
Launched survey to better understand what is working well and what we could do better.
1 to 15 June
Nine Meet the Director virtual focus groups held
These groups were:
  • listening events to better understand what is working well, what could we do better and how
  • led by Sue Harrison, our Director of Children’s Services; Anne Murray, Chief Nurse at Bedfordshire Clinical Commissioning Group; Kirsty Green, Director of SNAP Parent Carer Forum
  • attended by our senior management, along with other senior managers from CAMHS and health therapy services
Read feedback from parents and carers.
Theme leads feed in experiences, suggestions and ideas from listening events into outcomes and actions in written statement of action.
May 2020 (during COVID-19 lockdown)
27 May
Parent and carer email bulletins launched
Launched ‘SEND News’ fortnightly email bulletins to parents and carers. These deliver the latest written statement of action development updates, useful resources, advice, guidance and support on education, health and social care SEND services available across Central Bedfordshire. Theme leads started to identify outcomes and action areas for respective areas of development.
April 2020 (during COVID-19 lockdown)
21 April
First Theme Leads Operational Group meeting
Comprised of a joint-theme lead (Bedfordshire Clinical Commissioning Group and us) for the significant areas of weakness identified in the Ofsted letter. Each theme is supported by a representative from SNAP Parent Carer Forum. The group meets fortnightly.
Commitment from Send Partnership Board
Partnership agreed and committed to programme governance, written statement of action template, timelines and co-producing with parents, carers, practitioners, professionals and young people.
1 April
Programme team in place
Programme team in place to support SEND Partnership (programme and project management, communications).
March 2020 (before COVID-19 lockdown)
31 March
Established SEND Partnership programme
First restructured SEND Partnership Board held, to prepare to continue to develop and implement the written statement of action during COVID-19. Board jointly chaired by Sue Harrison, our Director of Children’s Services and Anne Murray, Chief Nurse at Bedfordshire Clinical Commissioning Group (BCCG). Membership includes senior leadership from us, BCCG (and health providers), CAMHS and SNAP Parent Carer Forum.
23 March
Start of COVID-19 lockdown
During this time, health leaders were seconded on to the front line and their capacity to support partnership improvement work was affected. Despite the challenges, there was engagement (wherever possible) often outside office hours, to ensure some progress in improvement planning and delivery.
18 March
Postponed in-person listening events with parents and carers due to COVID-19
Individual emails sent to all 62 parents and carers advising that, due to COVID-19 and government guidance, the Meet the Director groups had to be postponed.
11 March
SEND Partnership meeting
SEND Partnership meeting to discuss the SEND Partnership Programme and finalise arrangements for initial listening events with parents and carers. Agreed our dedicated resource to lead the SEND Partnership Programme – SEND Programme Manager.
Scheduled in-person listening events with parents and carers
Five ‘Meet the Director’ groups planned over 3 days:
  • 24 March
  • 31 March
  • 1 April
62 parents and carers registered for above sessions.
10 March
SEND Partnership update to Children’s Services Overview and Scrutiny Committee
3 March
SEND Partnership meeting
Meeting to discuss development of the SEND Partnership Programme and specifically the development of engagement with parents and carers.
February 2020 (before COVID-19 lockdown)
28 February
SEND Partnership Delivery Board meeting
Multi-agency board jointly chaired by Sue Harrison, our Director of Children’s Services and Anne Murray, Chief Nurse, Bedfordshire Clinical Commissioning Group. Agreed this Board will be restructured and hold strategic responsibility for the development of the written statement of action.
26 February
Children’s Leadership Board meeting
Multi-agency board jointly chaired by Sue Harrison, our Director of Children’s Services and Anne Murray, Chief Nurse, Bedfordshire Clinical Commissioning Group to discuss strategic partnership response to the outcome of the joint area SEND inspection.


We will continue to update on our progress.