East of England Aggregate Working Party

East of England Aggregates Working Party (EEAWP)

The East of England Aggregates Working Party (EEAWP) is one of a number of technical working groups throughout England that were originally established in the 1970s to collect data on the sales of aggregate minerals, the reserves of aggregates covered by valid planning permissions and the landbanks of reserves. These technical working groups were set up on a regional basis and covered a number of county areas.

With the demise of the Regional Spatial Strategies regional planning no longer exists. However, the National Planning Policy Framework (NPPF), issued by the Government in March 2012, requires (paragraph 145) Mineral Planning Authorities to plan for a steady and adequate supply of aggregates and sets out a number of ways of achieving this. It includes participating in the operation of an Aggregates Working Party and taking the advice of the party into account when preparing their Local Aggregate Assessment.

The membership of EEAWP is drawn from the Mineral Planning Authorities in the former East of England Region:

  • Bedfordshire Authorities (Bedford Borough, Luton and Central Bedfordshire Councils)
  • Cambridgeshire County Council
  • Essex County Council
  • Hertfordshire County Council
  • Norfolk County Council
  • Peterborough City Council
  • Suffolk County Council
  • Southend-on-Sea Borough Council
  • Thurrock Council

Membership also includes representatives of the Mineral Products Association (MPA) and the British Aggregates Association (BAA). Other interested parties attending include a representative from DCLG, the Environment Agency, the Marine Management Organisation, other AWP Secretaries and recycling and demolition companies.

Chairman is Andrew Cook, Head of Planning, Environment and Economic Growth at Essex County Council.

The Secretariat is provided by The Minerals and Waste Planning Shared Service for Bedford Borough, Central Bedfordshire and Luton Borough Councils. The Secretary is Susan Marsh.

Tel: 0300 300 6032

Email: susan.marsh@centralbedfordshire.gov.uk


Minerals and Waste Planning Team
Priory House
Monks Walk
SG17 9TQ

Terms of Reference

Terms of Reference (PDF 70.5KB) agreed at the meeting on 26 July 2013.

Back to the top