Honours recipients are 'an inspiration to us all'

Bedfordshire recipients of honours in the New Year Honours List have had their achievements celebrated at a special ceremony.

The event, at Jordan’s Mill, near Broom, was led by HM Lord-Lieutenant of Bedfordshire, Helen Nellis.

The seven honours recipients and their family members were joined by dignitaries including the High Sheriff of Bedfordshire, the Countess of Erroll; Chairman of Central Bedfordshire Council, Cllr David Bowater; Mayor of Luton, Cllr Dave Taylor; and Speaker of Bedford Borough Council, Cllr Wendy Rider.

Details of the recipients’ achievements were read out by the Lord-Lieutenant’s Cadets.

The recipients honoured were.

Professor Paul Cosford CB, Director for Health Protection and Medical Director, Public Health England (for services to Public Health).

Dame Carolyn McCall, Chief Executive Officer, EasyJet (for services to the aviation industry).

Tania Eagle OBE, Programme Director, Association of Police and Crime Commissioners (for services to policing).

Sally Peck OBE (for services to the community through education and sport in Bedford and the eastern region).

Richard Ward OBE, Head of Offender Learning, Department for Business Innovation and Skills (for services to adult education).

Lawrence Davies MBE, Deputy Chief Executive Automotive Investment Organisation (for services to the automotive industry and to the community in Bedfordshire).

Phillipa Davies MBE, Lately Deputy Director of Nursing, East and North Hertfordshire NHS Trust (for services to nursing).

Mrs Nellis said: “I was delighted to celebrate the achievements and huge contribution of the people who received honours in Bedfordshire at our special ceremony.

“They are an inspiration to us all and a reminder of how much difference each of us can make when we go the extra mile to serve our communities.

“It was a particular pleasure to conduct the ceremony at Jordan’s Mill, one of Bedfordshire historic treasures, where we received a very warm welcome.”

Back to the top